Day 1 — Monday 21 September

  • 8.45am - noon Visit to Kiowatt, innovative technology facility (optional)
  • 1.30pm - 2.30pm Arrival and registration
  • 2.30pm - 3.15pm Opening session

    Master of ceremony: Gilbert Théato
    Director My Energy G.I.E

    Xavier Bettel
    Luxembourg Prime Minister

    Carlos Moedas
    European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation

    Introductory statement by Claude Turmes
    Member of the European Parliament, Industry, Research and Energy Committee (ITRE)
  • 3.15pm - 5pm Session 1. Accelerating the energy system transformation

    Keynote speech by Dominique Ristori
    Director General, Directorate General Energy, European Commission

    Moderator: Tom Eischen
    Director General of the General Directorate for Energy and Government Commissioner for Energy of the Ministry of the Economy of the Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg


    - Professor Catherine Mitchell, University of Exeter
    The energy system of the future: technology challenges

    - Lezek Drogosz, Director of Infrastructure Department, Warsaw
    The energy system of the future: societal challenges and opportunities

    - Christoph Podewils, Director of Communications, Agora Energiewende
    Integration of systems

    - Robert Spicer, CEO vyzVoice

    - Philippe Rosier, President Global Business Unit, Solvay
    Upstream technology development

    - Antonio Vidigal, CEO EDP Inovação
    Global energy player
  • 5.30pm - 6.45pm Session 2. Towards a competitive European energy technology sector

    Moderator: Giovanni De Santi
    Director Institute for Energy and Transport, Joint Research Centre, European Commission

    - Diego Pavia, Chief Executive Officer, KIC-InnoEnergy
    Strengths and opportunities of the European energy technology sector

    - Dr. Klaus Willnow, Director Innovation Cooperations, Siemens
    International project/a company view on the global energy technology sector

    - Hervé Bernard, Chairperson EERA
    Research for a more innovative Europe supporting energy transition

    - Professor Torbjørn Digernes, Chair of the EUA-EPUE (European University Association - European Platform of Universities in Energy Research & Education)
    Linking research and education
  • 7.15pm - 10.45pm Gala dinner

Day 2 — Tuesday 22 September

  • 8am - 8.30am Registration and welcome coffee
  • 8.30am - 9.45am Session 3. Participation of the consumer in the energy transition

    Moderator: Michel Lebrun, Comité des Régions (CdR)

    - Monika Stajnarova, Senior Economic Officer, BEUC – The European Consumer organisation
    Consumer’s roles and responsibilities in the European energy transformation

    - Matthieu Mounier, Vice-President Prosumer Business, Schneider Electric
    Demand response, smart buildings, homes, appliances and home automation systems

    - Franziska Mohaupt, Environmental Engineer, Coordinator for the InnoSmart project
    Smart grids, storage and demand response

    - Thierry Lagoda, Mayor, city of Beckerich, Luxembourg
    Smart city: Integrating electricity and heat at local level
  • 9.45am - 11am Session 4. Sustainable energy for transport – and the link to the strategic transport research and innovation agenda

    Moderator: Magda Kopczynska
    Director, Mobility and Transport, European Commission

    - Frédéric Malefant, General Manager EV Business Development, Renault

    - Piero Cavigliasso, Director of institutional relations and public funding, Biochemtex
    Biofuels for transport

    - Fabio Ferrari, Coodinator H2 Mobility France
    Hydrogen in transport

    - Eric-Philippe Vinesse, Senior Vice President - Research and Development, Michelin
    Energy efficiency and quality of products

    - Romain Hansen, Director Technology projects, Goodyear worldwide
    Sustainable and safe road transport mobility
  • 11.30am - 1pm Session 5. Efficient energy systems

    Moderator: Marie Donnelly
    Director, Directorate General Energy, European Commission

    - Katharina Krell, Managing Director, Greenovate Europe
    System efficiency

    - Dr Bhagwat, Corporate Energy Affairs, Aunubis Belgium
    Industrial efficiency in energy-intensive industry

    - Monica Frassoni, President of the European Alliance to Save Energy (EU-ASE)
    Energy efficiency in buildings

    - Jasper van den Munckhof, Manager EnergieSprong
    Deep renovation project

    - Jean-François Gagné, Head of Energy Technology Policy Division, International Energy Agency
    The role of heating and cooling in efficient energy
  • 1pm - 2pm Lunch
  • 2pm - 3.30pm Session 6. Being the world leader in developing the next generation of renewable energy technologies

    Moderator: András Siegler
    Director, Directorate General Research and Innovation, European Commission

    - Torben Hvid Larsen, Chief Technical Officer, MHI-Vestas
    Offshore wind and integration in Northwest Europe's grid

    - Professor Eicke Weber, Fraunhofer ISE/ President of EUREC
    New technology to make renewable electricity controllable: storage and RES baseload production

    - Anna Carolina Tortora, Head of Innovation and development – Terna Storage
    The role of flexibility in the future system

    - Jean-Pascal Pham-Ba, Co-founder and Advisor to the Executive Committee, solairedirect
    Manufacturing PV system integration technologies in Europe

    - Miklos Antics, Managing Director GPC IP / GEOFLUID
    Geothermal heating and cooling
  • 4pm - 5.30pm Session 7. Financing challenges, possibilities and synergies between financing instruments

    Moderator: Gerassimos Thomas
    Deputy Director General, Directorate General Energy, European Commission

    - Nicholas Jennett, European Investment Bank
    Stepping up the role of EIB in financing energy innovation: InnovFin facility on Energy Demonstration Projects and European Fund for Strategic Investments

    - Carlos Pimenta, President of the Supervisory Board of SICAR NovEnergia Holding Company
    Challenges in financing market uptake of innovation

    - Malgorzata Mika-Bryska, Deputy Director in Energy Department in Ministry of Economy
    Use of structural funds & smart specialization

    - Dr Tome Anticic, Director general of Rudjer Boskovic Institute
    Efficient combination of various financing instruments
  • 5.30pm - 6pm Closing session

    Master of ceremony: Gilbert Théato
    Director My Energy G.I.E

    Étienne Schneider
    Luxembourg Minister of the Economy

    Miguel Arias Cañete
    European Commissioner for Climate Action and Energy

Poster session

You will be able to visit the poster session which will be held throughout the duration of the conference, meet the project presenters and discuss with them their innovative approach as well as to vote for your favourite project.

We use cookies for statistical purposes and to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are accepting the use of cookies on the SET Plan conference 2015 website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookies settings at any time. More